Emilio salgari banner

Sexton Blake: The Bat Files #3


Mr. Reece steps forth from the shadows, Inspector Coutts struggles, and the Bat does the unexpected…

Robert Murray Graydon (1890-1937) was an American author who wrote under the pennames Robert Murray and Murray Roberts. His father was prolific author William Murray Graydon, who wrote numerous adventure novels and over 260 Blake tales.

Robert Murray Graydon became a professional writer at the age of 16, when his first story was published in Chums. His first Blake adventure The Detective’s Ordeal was published in Union Jack #675 in September 1916. In all he wrote more than a hundred Blake tales, many featuring The Criminals’ Confederation, a web of criminals that enveloped the entire globe.

The full Confederation saga spans close to 70 tales which ran in the Union Jack and Sexton Blake Library from 1916 to 1926. It begins with The Hidden Hand, a tale that marked the debut of the master criminal “The Bat”. Gentleman cracksman, forger, confidence trickster, and master of disguise, the Bat immediately became one of the most popular characters in the Blake canon. No less popular, though far more sinister, was Jason Reece, a criminal mastermind who made his debut in The Mysterious Mr. Reece. It was his mind that helped craft the Criminals’ Confederation and his guiding hand that—in the words of Blakeologist Mark Hodder—shaped it into “the most widespread and insidious criminal organisation ever created.”

This is the third of 14 volumes that collects the Criminals’ Confederation saga in its entirety. It includes: The Case of the Clubfooted Man, The Vanished Police, Suspended From Duty, The Only Clue and The Steel Claw. All of the tales have been republished for the very first time. Enjoy!

Suspended From Duty: “A superbly written and very entertaining story..” Mark Hodder, Sexton Blake Bibliography, Blakiana

“I hope the Saint is as full of life as Sexton Blake when he has reached the same staggering total of successful crimes cases.” ~ Leslie Charteris

Imprint The Criminals' Confederation Series
Published 13/08/2021
ISBN 978-1-987886-86-3
Length 343 pages
Legendary Detectives
Sexton Blake: The Early Years
Sexton Blake: The Answers Casebook Sexton Blake: The Yvonne Cartier Files
Sexton Blake: The Wu Ling Files
Sexton Blake and Nelson Lee
Nelson Lee: The Black Wolf Files
Nelson Lee: The Pluck Casebook
Nelson Lee: The Landmark Cases
Moriarty’s Rivals: 12 Female Masterminds
Miss Brandt: Adventuress


News, articles, videos and more